My daughter’s IEP meeting was scheduled for tomorrow at 2:00 pm due to the snow storm school was canceled for today and tomorrow. So her IEP meeting will need to be rescheduled. She has been attending her IEP meetings since she was in the 4th grade.

My daughter asked me to help her write a letter on the computer for her IEP meeting.Who could say no to that. Certainly not this proud Momma.

Here is my daughter’s letter that we wrote together. I am replacing her name with Md for(my daughter)

Md wanted to write a letter about what is working for her in 6th grade for her IEP meeting.

Md and I (her mother) are writing this letter together.The following words were written after she explained what she wanted the letter to say about the way that she learns.

Here are a few things Md wanted you to know about her and how she learns that may not be written in her IEP.

Md has learning differences/disabilities and is slower to process what she sees and hears and because of that it affects her working memory taking her longer to remember what she sees and hears impacts HOW she learns. Something as simple as having extra/extended time and an organized structured enviroment helps her not only maintain her focus so she can learn but also helps her to feel confident in her self and how she is learning.

In Md’s own words.

Having Mr.L. as my case manager and advisory teacher and CWC teacher (class with in a class) has helped me a lot because I can ask him for help whenever I need it. He always makes time.I can also ask him questions about my accommodations and modifications and how they work in different classes. He understands me and how I process and learn.Knowing I don’t have to explain myself and that he understands has helped me gain confidence. Having extended time has helped me organize my time, use it affectively and has been a tool to help me improve my executive functioning skills. Having extended time on test has helped me to be my most successful this year. There has been many times where it has taken me longer than one class period to take a test. Where without it my test would’ve been turned in incomplete and in turn affect my overall grade in that class.

I am very grateful to have extended time to get to and from my classes. It helps me stay focused and not be so anxious. I’m able to organize everything I need for my classes as well as organize my time better. With the extra minute I am able to go to my locker and make it to and from class on time.

Having extended time has helped me be a better and happier me.

Thank you

Md

My daughter is dyslexic has SPD visual processing disorder and other LD

She understands that many school districts and those in Special ED do not accept specific diagnoses like dyslexia SPD ADD LD just to name a few. So she wanted to use simple terms that wouldn’t be questioned in her letter.

I am very proud of her for coming up with the idea to write the letter and that she asked me to help her. Here is hoping the others who attend her IEP meeting will appreciate her efforts as much as I do.